top of page


Governance and Organization

PHRT has a compact administrative structure. Funded projects are selected on a competitive basis according to their ranking by peer review and whether they comply with the aims and scope of the call for proposals. The responsibility to achieve the stated goals, manage funds, recruit and manage personnel, as well as the duty to report progress is delegated to the respective project leaders. This allows the effective allocation of financial resources to actual research projects as well as infrastructure needs, according to the evaluation criteria defined within the SFA.

Issues pertaining to intellectual property will need to be carefully addressed. This is implemented by the research institutions in collaboration with the Swiss Data Science Center (SDSC), as well as SPHN.

Strategic Committee

The Strategic Committee is the highest governing body and is responsible for the overall strategy. It includes representatives from all involved institutions:

  • Prof. Dr. Christian Wolfrum, Vice President Research ETH Zurich (chair)

  • Prof. Dr. Jan S. Hesthaven, Vice President for Academic Affairs, EPF Lausanne

  • Prof. Dr. Christian Rüegg, Director, Paul Scherrer Institut

  • Prof. Dr. Tanja Zimmermann, Director, Empa

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee (EC) is responsible for the strategic and operational decisions within the SFA Personalized Health and Related Technologies. The members of the Executive Committee represent the involved institutions of the ETH Domain. The executive director of the SFA Swiss Data Science Center is a full member of the EC to ensure close collaboration. In addition, one of the members is also on an SPHN committee to guarantee the sharing of information and knowledge transfer.

The Executive Committee of PHRT is composed as follows:

  • Prof. Dr. Bernd Wollscheid, ETH Zurich (chair)

  • Prof. Dr. Julia Vogt, ETH Zurich

  • Dr. Daniel Vonder Mühll, ETH Zurich

  • Prof. Dr. Sebastian Kozerke, ETH Zurich

  • Prof. Dr. Bart Deplancke, EPF Lausanne

  • Prof. Dr. Elisa Oricchio, EPF Lausanne

  • Dr. Olivier Verscheure, EPF Lausanne and ETH Zurich (specific connection to the Swiss Data Science Center)

  • Prof. Dr. Didier Trono, EPFL (member of the Swiss Data Science Center Steering Board, member of the National Steering Board SPHN)

  • Prof. Dr. René Rossi, Empa

  • Prof. Dr. Inge Herrmann, Empa

  • Prof. Dr. Alessia Pica, Paul Scherrer Institut

  • Prof. Dr. med. Damien Weber, Paul Scherrer Institut

PHRT Office

The PHRT office is hosted by ETH Zurich. It supports the EC and is in charge of the administrative and daily operation of the SFA such as preparation of meetings, controlling, budgeting and reporting. Contact.

bottom of page