New chairperson for the Executive Committee – PHRT


New chairperson for the Executive Committee

Prof. Dr. Ruedi Aebersold resigned as the chairperson of the PHRT Executive Committee by May 22, 2019 and is succeeded by Prof. Dr. Bernd Wollscheid.
Bernd Wollscheid (l.) hands over the farewell present to former chairperson Ruedi Aebersold. (PHRT)

In January 2019, the PHRT Strategic Committee appointed Prof Dr. Bernd Wollscheid as successor of Prof Dr. Ruedi Aebersold, followed by the official handover after the Executive Committee meeting on May 22, 2019. Wollscheid is a chemical biologist at the D-HEST department of ETH Zurich. He is spearheading an interdisciplinary team at Wollscheid laboratory, which develops, applies and translates next generation chemoproteomic technologies to gain new insights into how molecular nanoscale organization influences biological function in health and disease. Wollscheid heads the PHRT Proteomic Platform in Zurich and is therefore closely involved in PHRT since the beginning. He will lead the PHRT executive committee into its second phase during 2021-2024.

Ruedi Aebersold is a systems biology pioneer who has been working on proteomics methodologies. In 1999, he was one out of the three founders of the Institute for Systems Biology (ISB) in Seattle. Five years later, Aebersold moved to ETH Zurich where he set up the Swiss Initiative in Systems Biology, The ETH board mandated Aebersold in 2016 to launch the strategic focus area PHRT.  By now, more than 50 projects were approved and are running.
PHRT thanks Ruedi Aebersold for his pioneering work for PHRT and wishes him all the best for his retirement.

Picture of Rahel Hefti
Rahel Hefti

Communications Specialist